Vaguely Nigerian Stew

_MG_6534This was a quick store cupboard dinner, its taken from a very vaguely remembered Madhur Jaffrey recipe, but with no time to check ingredients, everything was hastily thrown in the slow cooker.  I do hope Madhur Jaffrey would not be disappointed.  We needed to rush out and would be back late so a self cooking dinner was a must.  The reason I’m adding this on tonight is that despite its humble beginnings, this meal went down a storm with all of the family, so I’m writing the recipe up to share the love and to help me remember it for another rushed weekday.

Serves 4

1 large onion (15p)

3 cloves of garlic, dinely chopped or crushed (15p)

1 tin of chopped tomatoes (89p)

2 tbsp smooth peanut butter (18p)

1 tin, or a cup of cooked red kidney beans (35p)

green pepper (£1)

1 tsp ground cumin (5p)

3 medium carrots (30p)

1 cup of frozen sweetcorn / 1 cob / 1 small tin (47p)

300ml of hot water

1 vegetable stock cube

Salt and pepper to taste

Jalapeño peppers or other medium chillis for optional spice (50p)

The method could not really be simpler, the pepper, onion and carrots need chopping, I left mine in quite large chunks (they survive the high setting of my slow cooker better) and then everything is added to the dish.  I didn’t add the jalapeños because I was feeding this to my young’uns, but I added them as a garnish to the adult plates.  Alternatively you could use 1/2 a tsp of cayenne pepper for that kick.

I only assembled this at lunchtime, so I put the slow cooker on high for 4-5 hours, but I would cook well on low for 8 hours if that’s more convenient.  If you need to leave it even longer, put cold stock in at the beginning instead of hot.

About half an hour before we were ready to eat I put the brown rice on to cook, using the fantastic and virtually idiot proof absorption method

(I also added a large diced courgette and a few green beans cut into chunks, because that’s what we have in the garden and it all needs eating.  Also I had a small bowl of chickpeas left over so I threw those in too, making my version feed 6 – Upon closer inspection, Madhur Jaffrey does suggest the addition of green beans and substituting the red kidney beans with other pulses so it’s not altogether inauthentic to use what’s available.)

This works out £1.01 per portion, plus the price of the accompaniment, the addition of the extra freebies from the garden bulked out the portions and gave me even better value for money.  I served this with brown rice, though it would be equally good with bread.

 

Leave a Reply

