Food For Thought (Day 2/3)

Day 2 of the quote challenge.  Thanks for the nomination Carol at Cooking For The Time Challenged.

The idea is to post 1 or 3 quotes a day for 3 consecutive days, and then nominate 3 blogs per day (or 9 at the end of the challenge, which is how I’ve chosen to do it) to pass on the philosophy, wisdom and hopefully positivity.

Today’s theme is: Spending wisely.

905f03bbec02f32911b9f04d622a1be6

I cannot agree more with the above quote, and once you really really get your head around it, suddenly spending money seems like a powerful political act.

Increasingly in our modern capitalist and consumerist world, one of the biggest influences we can have is to whom we bestow the pound in our pocket.  Every penny we spend will reinforce and fund the actions of the companies that take our money from us, and so I feel that careful consideration needs to be given to exactly what our money will go on to achieve. There are the obvious ethical boycotts, Nestle, Tesco, Starbucks… but rather than boycotting a few multinational brands or companies, I prefer to remain loyal to a few local and ethical brands or companies; voting with my pound, again and again to reinforce the good work they do.  I vote for increased organic farming, I vote for animal rights, I vote for workers rights, I vote for an end to unnecessary packaging, I vote for fair-trade, I vote in support of small artisan businesses, I vote for craftsmanship, I vote for charity, I vote for ethical activism, I vote for reducing, reusing and recycling, I vote for lowering our carbon footprint, I vote for sustainability and I vote for seasonality.

34167345df8d68dc56d9f138e5aae9cc

 

As we now live in a world governed by large companies all trying to make a profit, using our money wisely is our biggest influence on their practices.  If we continue to buy from companies that test on animals, they will continue to do so.  If we continue to buy from companies who use ingredients that contribute to deforestation, that demand will fuel the practice.  If we continue to spend money on fruit packaged in plastic bags, shops will continue to plastic wrap all their fresh produce… The issues are huge and wide ranging, and to be on top of who does what is tricky.  That’s why I prefer to stick to a few retailers with known ethical codes, and choose brands and products wisely from less ethical retailers.  The impact of our spending actions are effectively doubled; swapping your vote to an ethical ‘candidate’ not only reinforces ethical practice, but it is a decisive vote against the alternative.   The above quotation from Margaret Mead, sums up the power we have as consumers; however we are not really a small group, we are the majority of the western world, and half the time we are unaware what we are voting for… or even that we are voting at all.  We can make a difference.

RonFinleyQuoteSmall-2

Lastly, I’d like to talk about growing your own food, this is the ultimate way to sustain yourself and take back control of what you eat and how it is produced. Every tomato you can grow in a pot on your kitchen windowsill, is one less tomato in a plastic punnet in the supermarket.  We grow a large proportion of our own veg in the summer and the preserves see us through the year.  We also have our own little flock of hens and not only are their eggs far superior to anything bought at the supermarket, every day I vote for their welfare, I vote for their organic diet and I vote for the ultimate in locally produced food.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow! Think globally and act locally.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

