Green Bean and Courgette Chutney

I have a huge excess of green beans and courgettes right now – and obviously so did the people at Riverford Organic veg box scheme – as this is where I have stolen the basis for this recipe.  I’ve made green bean chutney before (a family favourite from my Great Auntie June – I must ask her if I can blog it!), and I’ve made Courgette Glutney before, but I have never combined both crops.  I’ve altered the Riverford recipe a little, to take advantage of some tomatoes given to me by my mother’s friend (his tomatoes plants have been much more successful than mine!) and changed the spices slightly to my own taste.  But this is definitely one to take care of a late July glut.

Makes about 1.5l of chutney – roughly 6 small jars.

  • 2 tbsp of olive oil
  • 300g onions, finely chopped
  • 5 cloves of garlic, sliced
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp yellow mustard seeds
  • 500g tomatoes, diced – skinned if you wish, I didn’t bother!
  • 400g runner and or french beans, trimmed and chopped into 2-3cm lengths
  • 500g (about 3-4 medium) courgettes – seeded and finely diced
  • 200g raisins
  • 400g light brown sugar
  • 500ml cider vinegar

Muslin spice bag containing:

  • 1 tsp black peppercorns
  • 1 tsp coriander seeds
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 4-5 slices of fresh ginger
A beautiful, colourful bounty, fresh from the garden.

Gently fry the onions, garlic, turmeric and mustard seeds in the olive oil for a few minutes in a large preserving pan.

Gradually add all the other ingredients  and the bag of spices and bring to the boil. Simmer gently for 2-3 hours making sure the chutney does not catch on the bottom of the pan.

wp-image-1790766837jpg.jpg

Meanwhile when the chutney is nearly ready prepare your jars by washing them well in hot soapy water and sterilising them in a hot oven or in your dishwasher.  Scald the lids of the jars and your utensils

It’s ready when most of the liquid has reduced and the bottom of the pan is brifly visable when you push the mixture to the side.

Take the pan off the heat and ladle the chutney into the jars, securing the lids tightly before leaving to cool.

The flavours will mature over the coming weeks, so ideally this needs storing in a dark cool place for at least 6 weeks before using.  I had a sneaky taste and it already tastes pretty good, but as yet I have no fancy photos of this gracing a cheese sandwich or nestling next to a pie.

I thought, as the beans, courgettes and tomatoes are ripening right now, it’d be best to get this recipe up and add more fancy pictures in a few weeks time.

I’m not going to price up this recipe, all the fresh produce is from mine, or other local gardens.  Most of us only make preserves when we have these gluts to deal with, and in that case, it is always a frugal way of making something wonderful to last out the year from a troublesome load of extra veg.

Leave a Reply

